Call For President's Award

The SABM President’s Award is presented annually at the Society’s Annual Meeting in recognition of those who have made outstanding medical, scientific and/or educational contributions to patient blood management and that have contributed to the public good in the area of blood safety and the reduction of unnecessary transfusions.

2018 President's Award Winner

Professor Hans Gombotz

Trustee of International Foundation for Patient Blood Management and former head of Anesthesiology and Intensive Care at Linz General Hospital, Prof. Hans Gombotz, has received the SABM President’s Award 2018.

IFPBM Trustee, Prof. Hans Gombotz, states: “I am both honoured and humbled to receive the SABM President’s Award 2018. It is thrilling for me to see Patient Blood Management being accepted around the world as the gold standard of practice.”

Prof. Gombotz has a long history with Patient Blood Management in Europe. From 2005 to 2010 he was the principal investigator of the First and Second Austrian Benchmark Studies on Blood Use in Elective Surgery and in 2010 he developed Austria’s first Postgraduate Patient Blood Management Course at the University of Graz.

From 2013 to 2016 he was the Chairman of the Patient Blood Management Project of the European Commission, managing pilot projects in five European University Hospitals. The project included developing an official Patient Blood Management hospital implementation guide and an official guide for Health Authorities for Building National Patient Blood Management Programs.

He was also responsible for the implementation of Austria’s first hospital-wide Patient Blood Management program at the General Hospital Linz, Austria and was a Member of the International Faculty of the Western Australia Department of Health Patient Blood Management Project from 2008 to 2012.

Prof. Gombotz has also been a Trustee of IFPBM since formation in 2016.

Past President's Award Recipients

Victor Ferraris, MD

Prof. Jacques Lacroix

John Freedman, MD

Richard B. Weiskopf, MD

Lawrence Goodnough, MD

Sharon Vernon, RN

Richard K. Spence, MD

John W. Adamson, MD

Professor Justo Medrano

James Isbister, MD

Konrad Messmer, MD

Harvey J. Alter, MD

Michael Busch, MD and Steven Kleinman, MD

The Honorable Horace Krever

Denton Cooley, MD

Watch Tower Bible and Tract Society of Pennsylvania